100 Reasons why the Bible does not use the word Trinity: Reason 32 of 100 [Authority of Jesus – From God or Self? Exploring scriptures from Moses’s prophecy of the coming prophet to fulfilment]

“The LORD your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among you, from your brothers–it is to him you shall listen– just as you desired of the LORD your God at Horeb on the day of the assembly, when you said, ‘Let me not hear again the voice of the LORD my God or see this great fire any more, lest I die.’ And the LORD said to me, ‘They are right in what they have spoken. I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers. And I will put my words in his mouth, and he shall speak to them all that I command him. And whoever will not listen to my words that he shall speak in my name, I myself will require it of him. (Deuteronomy 18:15-19 ESV)

Here we are told Jesus will be

  • from among their brothers (100% Human)
  • Jesus will be a prophet – Prophets are responsible for transmitting the word of God to the people
  • The children of Israel are to listen to him
  • God will put HIS words in his mouth
  • Jesus will only speak what God commands him

Let us look the following words of Jesus of how Jesus fulfilled the above scriptures:

Joh 8:28 So Jesus said to them, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own authority, but speak just as the Father taught me.

Joh 5:19 So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of his own accord, but only what he sees the Father doing. For whatever the Father does, that the Son does likewise.

Joh 12:49 For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandmentwhat to say and what to speak. Joh 12:50 And I know that his commandment is eternal life. What I say, therefore, I say as the Father has told me.”

Joh 15:15 No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.

Joh 5:30I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me.

Joh 17:8 For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me.

Joh 14:10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works.

Joh 8:38 I speak of what I have seen with my Father, and you do what you have heard from your father.”

God bore witness during the transfiguration that Jesus is his SON we ought to listen to as Moses prophesied:

“This is my Son, my Chosen One; listen to him!” (Luke 9:28-35 ESV)

Finally we see that Jesus still gets his insight of what is to come from his God:

Rev 1:1 The revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave him to show to his servants the things that must soon take place. He made it known by sending his angel to his servant John,

Rev 1:2 who bore witness to the word of God and to the testimony of Jesus Christ, even to all that he saw.

I.e.

God -> Jesus -> Angel (Now that he has risen above the angels) -> John -> to us.

Go the Father is above all including Jesus!

One thought on “100 Reasons why the Bible does not use the word Trinity: Reason 32 of 100 [Authority of Jesus – From God or Self? Exploring scriptures from Moses’s prophecy of the coming prophet to fulfilment]

  1. Pingback: 59 of 100: Jesus addresses YaHWeH as ‘My God’ and ‘My Father’ | 100 Reasons why the Bible does not use the word Trinity

Leave a Reply

